Monday, January 31, 2011

10 weeks out!

So Im officially 10 weeks away from stepping on stage beside the top names in the fitness industry! My debut is coming extremely fast and I know Im needed to kick everything up a knotch... especially after these last few weeks :S .. yup, its story time! lol

I started my prep this time around at 14 weeks out! the photo I posted in my last blog was me 13 weeks out from the Arnolds... when i was hoping to get that invite. I have not posted a recent photo since RE-dieting after chritmas/new years break (where i took a full 2 weeks off to start fresh before new york)

so here's my angry/sad/confused/emotional/etc story of my annoying body haha

Week ONE started great.. I dropped from 125lbs to 119.8lbs in the first 7 days! super exciting and motivating :) I stayed on track as always, added some cardio, weight training was great and still is great! but my problem was that my weight started going UP ( as in - back up to 124lbs during week 3 ) and my body was NOT responding and I actually felt bloated and less lean than when I started!! like WTF! and I was doing everything the same, kicking my butt everyday, and I stayed out of the Peanut Butter!! lol so as you can imagine my mind has been a bit messed up, and everything felt depressing. and played with my head a little...

It was starting to get difficult to stay motivated when you feel its pointless and something is wrong?? has anyone else been in this situation?? Id like to know Im not the only one lol...

BUT.. Ill say the last few days have been much more successful and motivating!! I finally saw a small change this week, tightening up, and my weight went back to 120lbs. so still up from week 1.. but way happier than being up at 124lbs :)

so I have posted a picture from this morning...

as you'll notice there is about 0 to little change from my previous picture. but its all good! Im pumped and ready for a new week, and i guarantee myself some result for next picture day :)

wish me luck! hope you enjoyed your weekend! and stay motivation - no matter what!!

Sunday, January 30, 2011

Prep to my Pro Debut! - 12 weeks out


First Off - Happy New year everyone!! I hope you all had a blast and made yourself some amazing goals.

Lets start the year off right, and put these goals in writing! It's easier to be successful when your held accountable for something right?! I think so...

so my main ones regarding competing and fitness....

a) try for at least 3 Ifbb pro shows this year

- New York, Toronto, Chicago.... and..?? not sure, but Ill keep the Olympia in my Dreams lol :)

b) write more blogs and do Vlogs - try for 1 everyone 2 weeks..

c) Get my Own website up and running

d) get back in the personal training business....possibly have my own studio run with Eric.

e)..

f)..

g)...

the list can go on for a loooong while but all the personal little stuff is boring... and none of your business haha :P

So my competitive journey for 2011 began this past monday - Jan 3! I started at 14 weeks out from New York. I did have a great christmas and New years (I mean for eating of course lol) - So im actually looking forward to dieting again and shedding my "water weight" haha. So pictures will be posted again weekly for updates.. along with training videos and blogs/vlogs.

I must admit I am extremely excited for this year! I plan on doing big things, and making big changes for myself. I have signed on with FUSION BODYBUILDING and they give me amazing support and all the help I need to be as successful as possible! They are an awesome team who give never ending support to all athletes, along with a ton of advice, training tips, and provide un-beatable products! FUSION will have a booth set up at the Arnold this year aswell which im PUMPED about!! so I can't wait to see everyone there! make sure to drop by and come visit me and the team :) nothing but good times.

As for Diet and training and routine, etc.... I will be sticking with me, myself and I this year. I think I've learned my body enough to know what I respond well to, and I what I dont! The main reason for this i guess too, is that I get frustrated and moody being told what to do lol. I do weight training my way, dont like partners, get fussy with food choices, etc... plus they say everyone is their own worst critique right?? I am really hard on myself in the gym; and out... so this may turn out to be a really good thing :) lol

of course I have a ton of supporters and a ton of great advice and help from others around me and in the industry, so Im really excited for the outcome April 9th!! WOOO HOOO

PLUS... I feel if Im able to do this myself and be confident with everything Im doing, then I will have more confidence and drive to help others with training, diet, posing, choreography, etc... This is eventually the career path I should be taking so this year should really help push my confidence to help me KNOW what Im doing and KNOW i can help others succeed aswell!

so ya, thats just a quick blerg on my thoughts, and ideas for the year!

heres my photo of me 12 weeks out..

Sunday, August 8, 2010

20 days!! - count down to stage time


I know, I know, I've been slacking on this whole blog thing lol!
but this is the first time ive taken photos since the last post, and without a photo-update, I dont see the point lol.

So the big day is creeping up reaaallly fast! 20 days and counting. I am feeling ok, and "ready" i guess, just still have quite the list of things to be done first though!

like the ROUTINE!! why is this killing me this year haha... I dont have my outfit yet - but not worried about that! the only issue I have at the moment is doing it with music. I tried with music for the first time on friday and it was a disaster. Its a lot faster than i was ready for and cant fit some of my moves in that i expected. AND im a little boney right now, and my rolls just KILL my neck, and tailbone.. so i hate practicing lmfao. oh well suck it up right? NO PAIN NO GAIN! ill be fine in the end..
like I said in my video... this routine isnt exactly MY 'style'... its more Rachels style lol. So im a little nervous and dorky when im performing it! I gotta learn to put the game face on and PERFORM! and not go through the motions you know? (OH rachel what have you got me in to here lol)

For physique Im feeling pretty good! Im conmparing my last years photos and I look like im on track, and maybe a little better??..ill need others opinions on the better part though haha, last year will be tough to beat! definitely came in my best to date 2009.

story time!

well, thank god I havent done anything too stupid lately! I feel like I kinda have a brain right now lmao. good thing right? I was getting brain mush for a while there,, thought i might be related to scare-a-crow from wizard of oz haha. BUT i'll admit, Ive been Jodster the grumpster! the little things frustrate me/anger me lol, probably being over tired and feeling like i weigh 200lbs walking around .. my legs just feel so heavy, you know that feeling? well i do.. lol
anywayz i kinda went off track there..
my story of the week! Gymnastics with Rachel! Im sure our video said it all... but if it didnt, we had a lot of fun, and tons of laughs. Everyone else in the gym was quite and working hard, and Rach and I were laughing hysterically and doing guitar solos and the worm, like "dor-zilla" lmao.
Well I guess the video does show most of it, since i cant think of anything to write that wasnt shown. lets just say i cant wait for wednesday and everyone should be prepared for another amazing video haha!

Over and out!

Sunday, July 25, 2010

5 weeks to go!!... time is flying


I HAVE THE BEST NEWS EVER!!


Soo.. you know all this talk I've been doing about how stressed I am, and how I leave everything to the last minute? welll..
I took my loong 'TO DO" list by the neck... pinned it against the wall, and threw darts at each chore... until I became about 60% less stressed than a week and a half ago!
I'd recommend this therapy to anyone haha


With that being said...




a)My suit is in the process of being made :D:D soo excited for the outcome

b) My routine song, is almost done to perfection... just fixing a few things up with the amazing Scott, from Sounddome.ca - makes amazing songs for fitness and bodybuilding.

c) The routine itself, to be honest i still havent exactly started... but the other day during 'practice' (which is usually me laying on the ground listening to my song over and over - or pacing back and forth bobbing my head to each beat) I finally, and I mean FINALLY came up with some cool ideas! BUT havent peiced them together yet, so im hoping I can perform it, as well as I can imagine it!
this is how all my routines and choreography are done... hours on the ground/coach/in bed-and can never fall asleep... peicing things together visually! If i can't see it... i obviously can't perform it! Thats my secret

d) I bought my high heels... and Im in the process of booking posing sessions with the great Mindi O'brien! the best of the best :D

e) lastly... need to Thank my Sponsor - FUSION, for their support and sending the goodies (I think Im addicted to FUBAR, and Agent M lol.. gotta love the blue tongue :P ).. every little bit helps, im very thankful!


So ya, Im on a roll, feeling great!
I;ve actually been asked by a few people why I'm so happy all the time, and always smiling?! And I dont know... its just been gooooodd the last little while. (ill probably be an emotion wreck next week though... be prepared haha - just a guess, knowing me) keep your fingers crossed with me, that i stay happy and focused! WOOOOOOOOOOO

So unfortunately I havent been able to take photos of myself since 7 weeks out... need a new memory card... so hopefully at 4 weeks I'll have a fantastic photo... that hopefully looks amazing, compared to 7 weeks!

Oh, and my diet changes slightly as of tomorrow, for phase 3... wish me luck, and hope it does wonders! Im excited :)

NEVER LET YOUR COMPETITION OUT TRAIN YOU!! (unless I'm your competition...I can't be out-trained haha :P)

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

7.5 weeks out !!

AAAAHHH
The big day seems to be coming sooo fast!! I'll be honest.. I'm not feeling 100% confident at the moment... mainly in terms of being organized and having everything ready!

ex- My routine has not been started... nor do i have a song done to start it :( **Bad Jodi**
- I do not have my bikini yet... not even fully ordered and started!
- routine outfit... its an easy home made one this year, but still should start on that asap!
- Posing... having started practicing! the most ive done is for updated photos! *eeek*
- shoes... ive been needed new heels as last years are orange! should go buy those today..

So ya.. a big to do list, and I am definitely a procrastinator! This is a HUGE show for me, so i know i should get my A$$ in gear right??

well.. I can say i did start tanning... and I did book my hotel room and registered already! is that enough?? haha oh god I know this is going to be a rough couple weeks! And thank god I have Rachel by my side... shes the one keeping me on my toes lately (yelling at me to start my routine, sat beside me while i book the hotel haha... make sure im actually doing it)

Living with my Trainer/Boyfriend Eric Daye - from 'TRUbody fitness' is a plus aswell! I mean... i live with a dieting/training Nazi lol ( in a good way) I couldn't cheat if i wanted to..
ex- the other day his eyes were on me for 30 minutes during my cardio... as he watched my every step during lunges, made me run backwards, sideways, and everyway the human body feels unnatural haha.. plus the burpees in between! Like "what the hell?" lol... cant a women do a normal incline walk before bed?? but i love him for it, and it will pay off




sooo..ive posted a photo of me at 9 weeks out (june 26/10)!! I have tightened up a little bit since that photo! i was 116lbs then... and about 114.6lbs now! I know weight doesnt really matter too much for me, but its good to keep track! Im down about 11 lbs from the start :)
unfortunately I missed 8 weeks out, so ill for sure get a pic at 7 weeks this Sunday









Ok so Ill leave you with a small funny "diet brain mush" story!
Before bed I was making my usual egg whites, with cinnamon and sweetener...which taste pretty yummy! its like a snack... so after I plated my eggs, I saw a lonely piece still in the pan, staring at me looking so delicious! So of course i couldn't leave it there, i wanted to eat it! BUT, for whatever reason I choose the hardest/stupidest way to scoop the little guy up! As i eyed it down, i was talking to myself "ok just grab it with your tongue, quickly! and make sure not to touch the pan....ok, you can do it Jodi... ready.. set.." BURN!!! WTF was I thinking?? All i had to do was use the flippin spatula that was in my hand already, and put it on my plate!! but nooo.... i wanted to be an iguana apparently! needless to say i did NOT enjoy my eggs that night as i couldnt really taste anything but a burn tongue LOL.

over and out!! see you next week

Friday, June 25, 2010

The real deal!


Well, finally! here it is... my official first blog entry!
ya, Ive posted a few on facebook with pics and boring updates... my progress and half naked self (although Im sure the creepers love it.... you know who you are :S).. but what about my LIFE, and experiences throughout the dieting and training?? the behind the scenes of Jodi Boam!?
well... DUN DUN DUN, here it is.. the REAL journey to the nationals!

Everyone always asked 'hows the diet going?". or "training still going well?"... and blah blah yeah yeah... but anyone who competes knows that is all the easy part... the hard parts are dealing with your emotions going from ecstatic to grumpy in 3.27 seconds and not knowing why!? Or the blank thoughts, and odd/stupid actions you do outta no where.. like constantly walking into walls, mumbling as your words slowly make no sense at all, or best of all having to turn around when your half way to work because you cant remember if you turned the stove off (happened on many occasions so far.)

lets give a small example - Rachel Davis (my partner in crime/BFF - competing in Figure at the Nationals with me) and I, do Plyo together every Wednesday.. normally goes super well... but this week, for whatever reason... EVERYTHING was apparently funny to us! From a sit-up, to a high jump... it was hysterical! Not to mention we love our 'friend' who asked me "are you allergic to soap?" while i was doing plate pushes across the floor.. um? yeaaahh?? i said weirdly... cuz he apparently wanted me to clean is house later that day!? hahaha anyway... it probably took us over an hour to do a couple burpees and pushups, but got a good ab-work-out through the laughing :)
* This may have been due to the idea of mixing Jack3d and Xience together as a pre-work-out drink* **WARNING do not try this at home..** lol good day

Ok, well thats a story of the week! A small one to get started.... im sure they'll only get better! so keep in touch, and see you soon!

p.s - Im 9 weekd out from nationals as of tomorrow, and in case your wondering "yes my diet is going well, and training couldnt be better..." thanks for asking

until Next time
Jodi Boam